Postcards Not Sent (Public) #2

Dear Family Member

I saw a Tibetan monk wearing Adidas shoes under his maroon robes today.  I felt like shouting, “How could you?  Don’t you know that the founders of Adidas were paid-up Nazis and those shoes may have been made by child sweatshop labour?!”  Honestly, some people should stop being so selfish and give more thought to their daily purchasing decisions.

xxHJ

* * *

Beloved

My new guru has diagnosed me with two blocked chakras – at my heart and stomach (so that’s why grandma’s ancient tip for a flat stomach that I saw on Facebook never worked!) Guru-ji has kindly offered to unblock all my chakras with incense and healing hands.  What happens in Varanasi stays in Varanasi, right?

xx HJ

* * *

Dear Friend

Sorry to hear that you have been unwell.  A priest at temple blessed a coconut and directed me to take it home to improve the health of me and mine.  Sadly, due to laziness, lack of coconut-preserving accoutrements and a wish to avoid a heated discussion with Australian customs about the holy (if mouldy by then) properties of said coconut, I abandoned it in a bin near my guesthouse.  Fingers crossed that this rash decision won’t cause either of us any bad luck – like when I took stones from country in Alice Springs.  Promise to buy you a coconut water when I get home instead!

xx HJ

* * *

Dear Family Member

Don’t you love the view on this postcard? It is taken from this amazing little sunset spot I found today – it was so peaceful – it was just me, the sun setting behind the monuments, 25 other tourists, a postcard vendor, a drummer, piles and piles of rubbish and several whiny mangey dogs!  I made sure to crop all the unsightly things out of my photos.

xxHJ

* * *

Dear Friend

I just saw the most beautiful Buddhist Stupas – all decorated with gates showing the lives of the Buddha. It gave me such a sense of serenity to wander around the hilltop amongst those stunning white carvings – until I was accosted by a crooked old beggar women demanding money.  Clearly this country doesn’t allow you to have a religious moment in peace!

xxHJ

2 comments

  1. Oh Hayley, I love your post cards! keep them coming. – Shad

  2. francesco yarfarva · · Reply

    what a hoot. you’re even funnier than yafarva ! ha x

Leave a Reply

